PROVEN DRILLING-FLUID ENGINEERING SOLUTIONS IN HORIZONTAL DRILLING IN BAZHENOV FORMATION, PALYANOV AREA OF KRASNOLENINSKOYE FIELD

PROVEN DRILLING-FLUID ENGINEERING SOLUTIONS IN HORIZONTAL DRILLING IN BAZHENOV FORMATION, PALYANOV AREA OF KRASNOLENINSKOYE FIELD

GazpromNeft-Khantos LLC completed drilling of two horizontal wells in Bazhenov formation during the second half of 2015 in Palyanov area of Krasnoleninskoye field. Specialists of both GazpromNeft-Khantos LLC and GazpromNeft R&D Center jointly had introduced a number of technical actions that finally ensured the successful drilling of wells.  The project development included selection of optimal solutions for the entire drilling process, incorporating the selection of optimal BHAs, drilling fluid parameters and formulations, and drilling process optimization, involving modeling of geomechanics and hydraulic calculations.  This article provides an overview of solutions and actions related to drilling fluids as proposed jointly by the specialists of Gazpromneft-Khantos LLC, Gazpromneft-R&D Center and AKROS LLC that allowed solving a number of complex technical issues arising from horizontal drilling.


Commencing the development of a drilling fluid program for drilling the horizontal wells at the Palyanov field, a detailed analysis of the regional experience of drilling such wells and determining the main technological risks during drilling was carried out.


Based on results of the analysis, the following main technological challenges specific for drilling horizontal wells to the Bazhenov formations were identified:




  • Determination of the optimal drilling fluid density while drilling the tangent section;
  • Preventing the drilling fluid loss caused by high value of equivalent circulation fluid density (ECFD) while drilling the tangent section;
  • Ensuring the stability of the tangent section and accident-free trip of the production liner equipped for multi-stage hydraulic fracturing.


Drilling wells to the Bazhenov formations in the KhMAO fields is associated with a number of technical problems, primarily caused by the need to provide borehole stability. This task becomes particularly important in projects where the development of Bazhenov formations is planned by construction of horizontal wells. It is generally known that the greatest difficulties in providing the borehole wall stability arise when it is necessary to drill the borehole through unstable rocks at inclination angles of more than 30 degrees. Under such conditions, when developing the well cleaning program, it is necessary to solve a number of technical problems to ensure trouble-free drilling.


The following is required when choosing a drilling fluid: 


  • Choose the fluid formulation that ensures the borehole wall stability across the entire length of interval drilling;
  • Choose the optimum fluid density values based on the data on past drilling the wells in the region and modeling of geomechanics;
  • Analyze the loss circulation probability during drilling and provide the measures to prevent and eliminate them, based on the chosen density, design rheological parameters of the drilling fluid and geomechanical modeling data.


Two low-angle boreholes were drilled in the Palyanov area of the Krasnoleninskoye field to the Bazhenov formation from the end of 2014 until mid-2015. Using the experience gained with the use of various drilling fluid formulations, the Gazpromneft-Khantos OJSC's specialists proposed measures to modify the formulation of inhibited PRIMOSOL potassium chloride-based drilling fluid. For example, when the formulation was modified by treatment with acrylic polymers, the changes introduced to the formulation allowed increasing the technical and economic indicators of drilling and provided stability of parameters under contamination with formation fluids.


Table 1. Formulation and parameters of fresh-water based and inhibited drilling fluids

Formulation - content of the main reagents

 

SYNTEX fresh-water based encapsulating drilling fluid

Polymeric potassium chloride PRIMOSOL drilling fluid before optimization

Function

Components

kg (L)/m3

Components

kg (L)/m3

Rheology modifier

Partially hydrolyzed polyacrylamide

1.5-2.5

Xanthan gum biopolymer

1-1.5

Bentonite

20-30

Filtration control additive

Sodium polyacrylate

0.2-0.3

Polyanionic cellulose

2-4

Plugging agent

Calcium carbonate

60-80

Calcium carbonate

60-80

Inhibitor

 

 

Potassium chloride

30-40

Drilling fluid parameters

Density, g/cm3

1.15-1.20

1.15-1.20

Viscosimeter readings

 

 

At 600 rpm

38-47

51-53

At 300 rpm

24-30

34-37

At 200 rpm

14-21

23-27

At 100 rpm

7-12

15-18

At 6 rpm

4-7

6-7

At 3 rpm

3-4

4-4

Static shear stress 10 sec

2-3

5-6

Static shear stress 10 min

4-9

16-20

Water loss, mL/30 min

7

5-6

рН

7.5-8

9.5-10

CEC (МВТ), kg/m3

55-80

14-35


Choice of drilling fluid density became an important element of measures to improve the borehole wall stability during the construction of the tangent section in the Palyanov area of the Krasnoleninskoye field. Based on results of the geomechanical studies carried out in the Palyanov area, the Gazprom Neft-Khantos specialists suggested to raise the drilling fluid density that allowed significant increasing of the borehole stability, ensuring trouble-free drilling and running the casing without complications. This example once again confirms the need to analyze the borehole wall stability using the geomechanical modeling as a basis for construction of a well with complex profile. Table 2 shows main components of the drilling fluid formulation and parameters that were maintained during drilling.

 

 Table 2. Optimized fluid formulation and parameters when drilling a tangent borehole section to the Bazhenov formation

    Polymeric potassium chloride PRIMOSOL drilling fluid after optimization for drilling of the tangent section  

Function

Component

kg/m3

Rheology modifier

Xanthan gum biopolymer

1.5-2

Filtration control additive

Polyanionic cellulose

2-4

Plugging agent

Calcium carbonate

60-80

Inhibitor

Potassium chloride / Sodium chloride

30-40

Incapsulator /

Stabilizer

Polyacrylamide

1.5-2

Drilling fluid parameters

Density, g/cm3

1.27-1.46

Viscosimeter readings

 

At 600 rpm

41-52

At 300 rpm

31-37

At 200 rpm

23-30

At 100 rpm

13-20

At 6 rpm

6-7

At 3 rpm

4-6

Static shear stress 10 sec

5-7

Static shear stress 10 min

15-22

Water loss, mL/30 min

<6

рН

9.5-10

CEC (МВТ), kg/m3

15-30


Since in developing the borehole cleaning program the need to maintain high drilling fluid density should be considered, a lost circulation risk analysis was carried out. Based on results of the analysis carried out, the potential risks and reservoirs were identified, where fluid loss was possible due to high value of equivalent circulation fluid density (ECFD) during drilling. To exclude this type of complications, a special complex of measures for artificial increasing the hydraulic fracturing gradient (Stress Cage) was developed based on establishing the special mixture formulations based on graphite and fractionated calcium carbonate. Since this approach was not fully implemented while drilling the tangent section in the first well, minor complications of minor lost drilling fluid occurred. When drilling the second well, the planned program for using this approach has been implemented in full scale and has completely prevented the loss.

For the drilling of the interval for the production liner, the AKROS LLC's specialists proposed the UNIDRIL system. UNIDRIL is a state-of-art drilling fluid system, an inverse emulsion based on mineral oil. Before application in the field, the UNIDRIL system was studied in the Gazpromneft-R&D LLC laboratory and, based on results of the study, a positive conclusion and permission to use this drilling fluid in the field were obtained. Table 3 shows main parameters of drilling fluid and its basic formulation. In preparing the borehole cleaning program for well construction, particularly for the production liner, the rheological profile of the system at various temperatures was analyzed and optimal water-oil ratio and rheological parameters of the UNIDRIL system were determined, taking into account the recommended safe density window obtained in the geomechanical simulation. During drilling, the drilling fluid parameters were maintained within a predetermined range that allowed minimizing the risk of lost drilling fluid based on mineral oil.


 Table 3. Optimized formulation and parameters of mineral oil-based drilling fluid for horizontal drilling

    UNIDRIL mineral oil-based drilling fluid  

Function

Component

kg (L)/m3

Base

Mineral oil

550-600

Calcium chloride solution

200-250

Rheological properties

Package of emulsifiers

25-30

Organophilic bentonite

8-10

Weighting agent

Calcium carbonate

90-100

Barite

500-550

Drilling fluid parameters

Density, g/cm3

1.41-1.42

Viscosimeter readings

At a temperature of 49°C

At 600 rpm

60-73

At 300 rpm

33-43

At 200 rpm

21-33

At 100 rpm

13-22

At 6 rpm

5-9

At 3 rpm

4-8

Static shear stress 10 sec

8-10

Static shear stress 10 min

10-30

HTHP filtration test, mL/30 min

 

Oil/Water ratio

75-80/25-20

Electrostability, V

600-750



An integrated approach to development of the drilling program, including selection of the optimal bit program and BHA, optimization of drilling regimes, preparation and development of a drilling program for well construction, allowed successful completion of well construction by running the assembly for multi-stage fracturing. Drilling the well took 45 days that corresponds to the value set by the project.

The drilling fluid experience gained will make it possible to identify promising approaches for the construction of horizontal wells in fields with hard-to-recover reserves:


  • drilling fluid services and implementation of all technical solutions in this area were provided by the Russian drilling fluid company;
  • chosen drilling fluid densities should be confirmed not only by calculations based on the minimum recommended overbalance pressure, but also by results of calculating the borehole stability obtained in geomechanical modeling. Decision to choose the optimal drilling fluid density can be made only on the basis of the analysis of these constituents with selection of appropriate drilling fluid formulation and parameters.
  • based on the borehole cleaning program chosen for the implementation, it is necessary to analyze the probability of borehole stability risks, on the one hand, and fluid loss, on the other. To prevent the drilling fluid loss, it is necessary to carry out hydraulic calculations of the equivalent circulating density and determine its maximum permissible value in terms of rheological parameters of the drilling fluid, taking into account the planned rates of penetration and drilling regimes.
  • use of an "artificial increase in fracturing gradient" technology is a promising direction to prevent fluid loss during well construction in terrigenous sediments, when maintenance of high drilling fluid density is required.
  • the use of inhibited PRIMOSOL potassium chloride-based drilling fluid with the additional use of acrylic polymers and correctly chosen density, makes it possible to ensure stability of the pay reservoir cover.
  • use of a UNIDRIL mineral oil-based drilling fluid provided an efficient process of drilling the horizontal section and possibility for running the assembly for multi-stage fracturing.
AUTHORS:

Cherevko S. А., deputy General Director of well construction Gazpromneft'-Khantos LLC

Khomutov А. Y., head of drilling and cement slurries of the Department of Drilling and well intervention works Gazpromneft'-NTC LLC 

Korolev А. V., general director AKROS LLC

Ryabtsev P. L.., technical director AKROS LLC

Source: "Burenie i Neft"№3 (2016), 42.

ОПЫТ РЕАЛИЗАЦИИ ИНЖЕНЕРНЫХ РЕШЕНИЙ ПО БУРОВЫМ РАСТВОРАМ ПРИ СТРОИТЕЛЬСТВЕ ГОРИЗОНТАЛЬНЫХ СКВАЖИН НА БАЖЕНОВСКУЮ СВИТУ ПАЛЬЯНОВСКОЙ ПЛОЩАДИ КРАСНОЛЕНИНСКОГО МЕСТОРОЖДЕНИЯ

ОПЫТ РЕАЛИЗАЦИИ ИНЖЕНЕРНЫХ РЕШЕНИЙ ПО БУРОВЫМ РАСТВОРАМ ПРИ СТРОИТЕЛЬСТВЕ ГОРИЗОНТАЛЬНЫХ СКВАЖИН НА БАЖЕНОВСКУЮ СВИТУ ПАЛЬЯНОВСКОЙ ПЛОЩАДИ КРАСНОЛЕНИНСКОГО МЕСТОРОЖДЕНИЯ

Во второй половине 2015 года на Пальяновской площади Красноленинского месторождения компанией ООО «Газпромнефть-Хантос» реализован проект по строительству двух горизонтальных скважин на Баженовские отложения. При реализации проекта специалистами ООО «Газпромнефть-Хантос» совместно со специалистами «Газпромнефть-НТЦ» был реализован целый комплекс технических мероприятий, обеспечивший успешное бурение скважин. Разработка проекта включала в себя подбор оптимальных решений всего комплекса буровых работ – выбор оптимальных КНБК, подбор рецептур и параметров буровых растворов, оптимизацию процесса бурения на основе геомеханического моделирования и гидравлических расчетов. В данной статье приведен обзор решений и мероприятий по буровым растворам, разработанный совместно специалистами ООО «Газпромнефь-Хантос», ООО «Газпромнефть-НТЦ» и ООО «АКРОС» позволивший решить ряд сложных технических задач возникающих при строительстве подобных скважин.

Приступая к разработке программы по буровым растворам для строительства горизонтальных скважин на Пальяновском месторождении был проведен детальный анализ регионального опыта проводки подобных скважин и определение основных технологических рисков при бурении.

По результатам проведенного анализ были определены следующие основные технологические вызовы специфические для бурения горизонтальных скважин на Баженовские отложения:

  • определение оптимальной плотности бурового раствора при бурении траспортного ствола;

  • предотвращение поглощений бурового раствора в результате высоких значений эквивалентной циркуляционной плотности при бурении транспортного ствола (ЭЦП);

  • обеспечение стабильности горизонтального участка и безаварийного спуска хвостовика оборудованного под проведение многостадийного ГРП.

Бурение скважин на Баженовские отложения на месторождениях ХМАО сопряжено с целым рядом технических сложностей, в первую очередь с необходимостью обеспечения стабильности ствола Данная задача приобретает особую важность в проектах где разработка Баженовских отложений планируется посредством строительства горизонтальных скважин. Общеизвестно, что наибольшие трудности по обеспечению стабильности стенок возникают при необходимости проводки ствола через неустойчивые породы под зенитными углами свыше 30 градусов. В таких условиях при разработке программы промывки необходимо решить целый ряд технических задач для обеспечения безаварийного бурения.

При выборе бурового раствора необходимо:

  • подобрать рецептуру обеспечивающую стабильность стенок скважины на протяжении всего периода проводки интервала;

  • выбрать оптимальные значения плотности бурового раствора на основании данных по опыту бурения скважин в регионе и геомеханического моделирования;

  • на основании выбранной плотности, проектных реологических параметров бурового раствора и данных геомеханического моделирования, проанализировать вероятность возникновения поглощений при бурении и предусмотреть мероприятия по их предотвращению и ликвидации.

С конца 2014 до середины 2015 года на Пальяновской площади Красноленинского месторождения были пробурены две пологие скважины на Баженовскую свиту. Исходя из полученного опыта применения различных рецептур буровых растворов специалистами ОАО «Газпромнефть-Хантос» были предложены мероприятия по модификации рецептуры ингибированного бурового раствора на основе хлористого калия PRIMOSOL. Так в рецептуру были добавлены обработки акриловыми полимерами, внедренные изменения рецептуры позволили повысить ТЭП бурения и стабильность параметров при загрязнении пластовыми флюидами.

   Таблица 1. Рецептуры и параметры пресного и ингибированного буровых растворов

Рецептура – содержание основных реагентов

Пресный Инкапсулирующий буровой раствор SYNTEX

Полимерный хлоркалиевый PRIMOSOL до оптимизации

Функция

Компоненты

кг(л)/м3

Компоненты

кг(л)/м3

Структурообразователь

Частично гидролизованный полиакриламид

1.5-2.5

Биополимер ксантановая смола

1-1.5

Бентонит

20-30

Понизитель фильтрации

Полиакрилат натрия

0.2-0.3

Полианионная целлюлоза

2-4

Кольматант

Карбонат кальция

60-80

Карбонат кальция

60-80

Ингибитор

Хлорид калия

30-40

Параметры бурового раствора

Плотность, г/см3

1.15-1.20

1.15-1.20

Значения вискозиметра

При 600 об/мин

38-47

51-53

300 об/мин

24-30

34-37

200 об/мин

14-21

23-27

100 об/мин

7-12

15-18

6 об/мин

4-7

6-7

3 об/мин

3-4

4-4

СНС 10сек

2-3

5-6

СНС 10 мин

4-9

16-20

Водоотдача, мл/30 мин

7

5-6

рН

7.5-8

9.5-10

МВТ, кг/м3

55-80

14-35

Важным элементом мероприятий по повышению стабильности стенок скважины при строительстве транспортного ствола на Пальяновской площади Красноленинского месторождения стал выбор плотности бурового раствора. На основании геомеханических исследований которые проводились на Пальяновской площади специалистами Газпромнефть-Хантос было предложено увеличить плотность бурового раствора, что позволило значительно повысить стабильность ствола, обеспечить безаварийное бурения и провести работы по спуску обсадной колонны без осложнений. Данный пример еще раз подтверждает необходимость анализа устойчивости стенок скважины на основе геомеханического моделирования при строительстве скважины со сложным профилем. В таблице 2. приведены основные компоненты рецептуры буровых растворов и параметры которые поддерживались при бурении.

Таблица 2. Оптимизированная рецептура и параметры раствора при бурении транспортного ствола горизонтальной скважины на Баженовские отложения

Полимерный хлоркалиевый PRIMOSOL после оптимизации для бурения транспортного ствола

Функция

Компонент

Кг/м3

Структурообразователь

Биополимер

ксантановая смола

1.5-2

Понизитель фильтрации

Полианионная целлюлоза

2-4

Кольматант

Карбонат кальция

60-80

Ингибитор

Хлорид калия / Хлорид натрия

30-40

Инкапуслятор

Стабилизатор

Полиакриламид

1.5-2

Параметры бурового раствора

Плотность, г/см3

1.27-1.46

Значения вискозиметра

При 600 об/мин

41-52

300 об/мин

31-37

200 об/мин

23-30

100 об/мин

13-20

6 об/мин

6-7

3 об/мин

4-6

СНС 10сек

5-7

СНС 10 мин

15-22

Водоотдача, мл/30 мин

<6

рН

9.5-10

МВТ, кг/м3

15-30

Учитывая необходимость поддержания высокой плотности бурового раствора при разработке программы промывки был проведен анализ риска возникновения поглощений. По результатам проведенного анализа были выявлены потенциальные риски и пласты, на которых было возможно возникновение поглощений по причине высоких значений ЭЦП при бурении. Для исключения данного вида осложнений были разработан специальный комплекс мероприятий по искусственному повышению градиента гидроразрыва (Stress Cage) основанный на установке специальных смесевых составов на основе графита и фракционированного карбоната кальция. В связи с тем, что на первой скважине при бурении транспортного ствола данный подход не был реализован в полном объеме, были получены незначительные осложнения в виде поглощений бурового раствора. При бурении второй скважины запланированная программа по применению данного подхода реализована в полном объеме позволила полностью предотвратить поглощения.

Для бурения интервала под хвостовик специалистами ООО «АКРОС» была предложена система UNIDRIL. UNIDRIL это современная система бурового раствора, обратная эмульсия на основе минерального масла. Перед применением на месторождении система UNIDRIL была исследована в лаборатории ООО «Газпромнефть-НТЦ» и по результатам исследования было получено положительное заключение и разрешение на применение раствора в поле. В таблице 3 приведены основные параметры бурового раствора и базовая рецептура. При подготовке к строительству скважины программа промывки, в особенности под хвостовик были проанализированы реологический профиль системы при различных температурах и определено (оптимальное водонефтяное отношение и реологические параметры системы UNIDRIL) с учетом рекомендованного безопасного окна плотностей, полученного в ходе геомеханического моделирования. В процессе бурения параметры бурового раствора поддерживались в заранее определенном диапазоне, что позволило минимизировать риск возникновения поглощений бурового раствора на основе минерального масла.

 Таблица 3. Оптимизированная рецептура и параметры раствора на основе минерального масла при бурении горизонтального ствола

Буровой раствор на основе минерального масла UNIDRIL

Функция

Компонент

кг (л)/м3

Основа

Минеральное масло

550-600

Раствор хлористого кальция

200-250

Структурные свойства

Пакет эмульгаторов

25-30

Органофильный бентонит

8-10

Утяжелитель

Карбонат кальция

90-100

Барит

500-550

Параметры бурового раствора

Плотность, г/см3

1.41-1.42

Значения вискозиметра

При температуре 49С

При 600 об/мин

60-73

300 об/мин

33-43

200 об/мин

21-33

100 об/мин

13-22

6 об/мин

5-9

3 об/мин

4-8

СНС 10сек

8-10

СНС 10 мин

10-30

Фильтрация ВТВД, мл/30мин

Соотношение Масло/Вода

75-80/25-20

Электростабильность, Вольт

600-750

Интегрированный подход к разработке программы бурения включающий подбор оптимальной долотной программы и КНБК, оптимизацию режимов бурения, подготовку и проработку программы промывки на строительство скважины позволил успешно завершить строительство скважины спуском компоновки для многостадийного ГРП. Бурение скважины заняло 45 дней, что соответствует заложенному проектом значению.

Полученный опыт в области буровых растворов позволят выделить перспективные подходы при строительстве горизонтальных скважин на месторождениях с трудноизвлекаемыми запасами:

  • Сервисы буровых растворов и реализация всех технических решений по данному направлению были обеспечены российской растворной компанией.

  • Выбор плотностей буровых растворов должен быть подтверждён не только расчетами исходя из величины минимально рекомендуемой репрессии на пласт, но и результатами расчета устойчивости ствола скважины полученных в ходе геомеханического моделирования. Только на основании анализа этих составляющих можно принять решение по выбору оптимальной плотности бурового раствора, подобрать соответствующую рецептуру и параметры.

  • На основании выбранной к реализации программы промывки необходимо проанализировать вероятность возникновения рисков по стабильности ствола скважины с одной стороны и возникновению поглощений с другой. Для предупреждения возникновения поглощений необходимо провести гидравлические расчеты эквивалентной циркуляционной плотности и определить максимально допустимые значения по реологическим параметрам бурового раствора, с учетом планируемых скоростей проходки и режимов бурения.

  • Перспективным направлением для предотвращения поглощений при строительстве скважин в терригенных отложениях, при необходимости поддержания высокой плотности бурового раствора является применение технологии «искусственного увеличения градиента гидроразрыва».

Применение ингибированного бурового раствора PRIMOSOL на основе хлористого калия с дополнительным использование акриловых полимеров и правильным выбором плотности, позволяет обеспечить стабильность покрышки продуктивного пласта.

Применение раствора на основе минерального масла UNIDRIL обеспечило эффективный процесс бурения горизонтального участка и возможность спуска компоновки для многостадийного ГРП.

АВТОРЫ СТАТЬИ:

Черевко С. А., заместитель генерального директора по строительству скважин ООО «ГАЗПРОМНЕФТЬ - ХАНТОС»

Хомутов А. Ю., начальник управления буровых и тампонажных растворов Департамента Бурения и ВСР ООО "ГАЗПРОМНЕФТЬ-НТЦ

Королев А. В., генеральный директор ООО «АКРОС»

Рябцев П. Л., технический директор ООО «АКРОС»

Источник: Журнал «Бурение и Нефть», 2016, №3, 42.